California Child Abuse Criminal Defense Lawyer
California Penal Code 273d
Have you or a loved one been charged with child abuse in California, San Bernardino, Riverside, Orange County, or Los Angeles County? You will need the assistance of an experienced California criminal defense lawyer. California Penal Code 273d is a wobbler, which means that the underlying crime of child abuse can be charged as either a misdemeanor or felony. How the underlying crime is charged will be up to the California district attorney but generally it will depend on an individuals prior criminal history and the facts supporting the California criminal charges.
San Bernardino and Riverside Child Abuse Criminal Defense Lawyer
Rancho Cucamonga Criminal Defense and Child Abuse Defense Attorney
Our California child Abuse lawyer always offers a FREE initial criminal defense consultation. During this initial consultation our criminal defense and child abuse lawyer will be able to evaluate your California Penal Code 273d charges and determine whether you have any legal defenses available to the current child abuse charges.
California Penal Code 273d
(a) Any person who willfully inflicts upon a child any cruel or inhuman corporal punishment or an injury resulting in a traumatic condition is guilty of a felony and shall be punished by imprisonment in the state prison for two, four, or six years, or in a county jail for not more than one year, by a fine of up to six thousand dollars ($6,000), or by both that imprisonment and fine. (b) Any person who is found guilty of violating subdivision (a) shall receive a four-year enhancement for a prior conviction of that offense provided that no additional term shall be imposed under this subdivision for any prison term served prior to a period of 10 years in which the defendant remained free of both prison custody and the commission of an offense that results in a felony conviction. (c) If a person is convicted of violating this section and probation is granted, the court shall require the following minimum conditions of probation: (1) A mandatory minimum period of probation of 36 months. (2) A criminal court protective order protecting the victim from further acts of violence or threats, and, if appropriate, residence exclusion or stay-away conditions. (3) (A) Successful completion of no less than one year of a child abuser's treatment counseling program. The defendant shall be ordered to begin participation in the program immediately upon the grant of probation. The counseling program shall meet the criteria specified in Section 273.1. The defendant shall produce documentation of program enrollment to the court within 30 days of enrollment, along with quarterly progress reports. (B) The terms of probation for offenders shall not be lifted until all reasonable fees due to the counseling program have been paid in full, but in no case shall probation be extended beyond the term provided in subdivision (a) of Section 1203.1. If the court finds that the defendant does not have the ability to pay the fees based on the defendant's changed circumstances, the court may reduce or waive the fees. (4) If the offense was committed while the defendant was under the influence of drugs or alcohol, the defendant shall abstain from the use of drugs or alcohol during the period of probation and shall be subject to random drug testing by his or her probation officer. (5) The court may waive any of the above minimum conditions of probation upon a finding that the condition would not be in the best interests of justice. The court shall state on the record its reasons for any waiver.