First and most important, if you or family member has been arrested in California for Driving Under the Influence or more commonly referred to as a DUI you have 10 days after the arrest to contact a California DMV office to schedule a DUI DMV Administrative hearing or your California license will be automatically suspended.
This simple fact makes it vitally important to contact a Diamond Bar DUI Lawyer as soon as possible after the arrest for a DUI. The Law Offices of Ryan P. McClure can assist individuals that have been arrested for DUI in both the
DMV hearing and the criminal hearings associated with a
DUI arrest throughout Los Angeles County.
An individual that has been charged with a Diamond Bar DUI has either been pulled over by law enforcement due to erratic driving or at a sobriety checkpoint at which time a law enforcement officer has questioned the individual operating the vehicle or motorcycle. The law enforcement officer may give a variety of tests like the filed sobriety test or breath test to the individual that has been stopped. Once the individual is arrested they will be given the choice to a blood or breath test when they are in custody. If however, the arrested individual refuses to give a sample through either a breath or blood test, their license will be automatically suspended for one year. An arrest for DUI may subject the arrested individual to fines, license suspension, and possibly jail time so it is important to contact a
DUI defense Lawyer immediately.
Driving Under Influence of Alcohol or Drugs
Below are the two most common California Vehicle Code Sections that individuals are charged with when they are arrested for DUI.
California Vehicle Code Section 23152 (a) , It is unlawful for any person who is under the influence of any alcoholic beverage or drug, or under the combined influence of any alcoholic beverage and drug, to drive a vehicle.
California Vehicle Code Section 23152(b) It is unlawful for any person who has 0.08 percent or more, by weight, of alcohol in his or her blood to drive a vehicle.
For purposes of this article and Section 34501.16, percent by weight of alcohol in a person's blood is based upon grams of alcohol per 100 milliliters of blood or grams of alcohol per 210 liters of breath.
In any prosecution under this subdivision, it is a rebuttable presumption that the person had 0.08 percent or more, by weight, of alcohol in his or her blood at the time of driving the vehicle if the person had 0.08 percent or more, by weight, of alcohol in his or her blood at the time of the performance of a chemical test within three hours after the driving.
If you or family member has been arrested for Driving under the Influence (DUI) call our Diamond Bar Criminal Defense & DUI law offices immediately and talk to a DUI Lawyer.
Call Today for a FREE initial consultation!
The Law Offices of Ryan P. McClure
3200 Guasti Road Suite 100
Ontario, CA 91761
Diamond Bar Criminal Defense & DUI Lawyer