California Penal Code 273d- Corporal Injury on a Child
Have you been charged with or being investigated for California Penal Code 273d
, which is commonly referred to as Child Abuse or Corporal Injury to a Child? You will need the assistance of an experienced San Bernardino & Riverside Criminal Defense Lawyer & Attorney.
California Penal Code 273d is a Wobbler, which means that the underlying crime can be charged as either a misdemeanor or a
felony. The determination on whether the crime will be charged as
Misdemeanor will be done by the District Attorney handling the case. Generally, the extent of the injuries will determine the charge.
San Bernardino & Riverside Child Abuse Attorney
If you are charged with Child Abuse in the Inland Empire or you are being investigated by San Bernardino or Riverside law enforcement you should consult and retain a experienced criminal defense attorney. We handle cases throughout Riverside & San Bernardino and appear regularly in courts at Rancho Cucamonga, Chino, Fontana, Riverside, and San Bernardino.
California Penal Code 273d
(a) Any person who willfully inflicts upon a child any cruel
or inhuman corporal punishment or an injury resulting in a traumatic
condition is guilty of a felony and shall be punished by imprisonment
in the state prison for two, four, or six years, or in a county jail
for not more than one year, by a fine of up to six thousand dollars
($6,000), or by both that imprisonment and fine.
(b) Any person who is found guilty of violating subdivision (a)
shall receive a four-year enhancement for a prior conviction of that
offense provided that no additional term shall be imposed under this
subdivision for any prison term served prior to a period of 10 years
in which the defendant remained free of both prison custody and the
commission of an offense that results in a felony conviction.
(c) If a person is convicted of violating this section and
probation is granted, the court shall require the following minimum
conditions of probation:
(1) A mandatory minimum period of probation of 36 months.
(2) A criminal court protective order protecting the victim from
further acts of violence or threats, and, if appropriate, residence
exclusion or stay-away conditions.
(3) (A) Successful completion of no less than one year of a child
abuser's treatment counseling program. The defendant shall be ordered
to begin participation in the program immediately upon the grant of
probation. The counseling program shall meet the criteria specified
in Section 273.1. The defendant shall produce documentation of
program enrollment to the court within 30 days of enrollment, along
with quarterly progress reports.
(B) The terms of probation for offenders shall not be lifted until
all reasonable fees due to the counseling program have been paid in
full, but in no case shall probation be extended beyond the term
provided in subdivision (a) of Section 1203.1. If the court finds
that the defendant does not have the ability to pay the fees based on
the defendant's changed circumstances, the court may reduce or waive
(4) If the offense was committed while the defendant was under the
influence of drugs or alcohol, the defendant shall abstain from the
use of drugs or alcohol during the period of probation and shall be
subject to random drug testing by his or her probation officer.
(5) The court may waive any of the above minimum conditions of
probation upon a finding that the condition would not be in the best
interests of justice. The court shall state on the record its reasons
for any waiver.